Manchester United were denied a penalty in their 0-0 draw at Chelsea on Sunday and now former Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg has criticised the decision.
The Reds were held to a stalemate at Stamford Bridge as they lost ground on Manchester City at the top, with the Blues now 12 points clear.
But Ole Gunnar Solskjaer ‘s men also did well to not lose a key fixture in the race for the top four as United sit second and six points ahead of fifth-placed Chelsea with 12 matches remaining in the 2020/21 campaign.
It could have been a much better situation for the Reds, though, with the potential to break the deadlock in the first half turned away after Callum Hudson-Odoi handled the ball in the penalty area, only for a spot-kick not to be given.
The decision was looked at by Chris Kavanagh on VAR and he subsequently told Stuart Attwell to review the pitch-side monitor. However, the referee didn’t give a penalty following the review, much to the amazement of fans and pundits alike.
Clattenburg has now joined the chorus of critics and questioned the decision in his MailOnline column.
Free Manchester United newsletter
Manchester United were denied a penalty in controversial fashion against Chelsea in the Premier League on Sunday.
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and his players were furious that Callum Hudson-Odoi wasn’t penalised for a handball, as they had to settle for a 0-0 draw at Stamford Bridge. The point leaves United 12 points behind leaders Man City, with Crystal Palace the next opponents.
MEN Sport will bring you all the build-up to and reaction from every United match. You can have it all delivered straight to your inbox by signing up to our daily newsletter. Just put your email address in the sign-up box at the top of this article, or simply follow this link. It’s free and only takes a few seconds.
“I am amazed Manchester United were not awarded a penalty in the first half for the clear handball by Callum Hudson-Odoi,” Clattenburg told the Mail.
“The Chelsea player’s arm was up in an unnatural position and the ball hit his hand.
“VAR Chris Kavanagh thought referee Stuart Attwell had missed a clear penalty so he gave him the opportunity to review it at his pitch-side monitor.
“How Attwell did not then point to the spot, having been shown the same angles that we were, is a mystery.”