Chelsea defender Andreas Christensen has refuted claims that Manchester United should have been awarded a penalty during Sunday’s goalless draw at Stamford Bridge.
The big talking point after the match was an incident during the first half where Ole Gunnar Solskjaer ‘s side thought they should have been given a spotkick for a handball in the box by Chelsea winger Callum Hudson-Odoi, who contested a ball with Mason Greenwood.
But the appeal was dismissed by referee Stuart Attwell after the video assistant referee asked the official to consul the pitchside monitor.
Speaking after the game, United boss Solskjaer was quick to express his disappointment at the decision, making it clear that he expected his side to be awarded the penalty.
“It was a penalty, 100% nailed on,” he said to the BBC. “If that’s a natural position for a hand to be in when the ball comes in then I must be blind.
“We wanted to win. Apart from the last quality or pass being not good enough, we had great pressing, desire [and] work rate. There was a great save by David de Gea and we got the clean sheet.
“That’s what let us down, that quality on the ball. The first half was scrappy. Poor game really. But then we played some good stuff at times. When we settled we created a few chances but we didn’t have enough.”
However, Solskjaer’s stance was not echoed by Chelsea centre-back Christensen, with the Denmark international close by on the pitch when the incident happened.
The defender claims it was United forward Greenwood who actually got a touch on the ball first with his hand, before it hit Hudson-Odoi.
“I saw it and from my view it was their player [Greenwood] that touched it with the hand,” Christensen told the official Chelsea website.
“I don’t know why they had to check it because it was quite obvious.
“I’m a defender so I hate that [handball] rule. If it wasn’t on purpose by either of them I think we should just leave it, especially when it’s not on goal, just in between two players not going anywhere.”
Free Manchester United newsletter
Manchester United were denied a penalty in controversial fashion against Chelsea in the Premier League on Sunday.
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and his players were furious that Callum Hudson-Odoi wasn’t penalised for a handball, as they had to settle for a 0-0 draw at Stamford Bridge. The point leaves United 12 points behind leaders Man City, with Crystal Palace the next opponents.
MEN Sport will bring you all the build-up to and reaction from every United match. You can have it all delivered straight to your inbox by signing up to our daily newsletter. Just put your email address in the sign-up box at the top of this article, or simply follow this link. It’s free and only takes a few seconds.
Chelsea boss Tuchel was also adamant that the correct decision was made.
“I was anxious before I thought I was totally wrong. From my point of view it was totally clear that a man in red touched it.
“When I saw it on the iPad I could not understand what was going on as it was only the man with the red shirt who touched it.
“I did not understand what the [VAR] check was for.”